For 15 years MedTech Association has been recognizing and awarding advancements made in the bio/med industry. Each year they hold their Annual Conference and Achievement Awards, which acknowledge the wide range of talented individuals and organizations in upstate New York. Their mission focuses on building relationships, tools and programs in support of upstate New York companies and their efforts to deliver medical solutions. The nominees not only showcase the innovators, universities, institutes, and visionaries of our region, but also represent the diversity, spirit and talent of upstate New York.


At this year’s MedTech Achievement Awards, Masonic Medical Research Institute (MMRI) was nominated and awarded for the “distinguished achievements in research and academics” award. MedTech grants this award to an institution whose contributions have measurably advanced upstate New York’s Bio/Med Industry. “For the past 2 years we have been in the process of expanding our research interests and engaging with new, more broad-based and disease-focused studies. We are proud of how far MMRI has come and look forward to what the future holds. This nomination stands as an accreditation of the Institute’s growing success” said Dr. Maria Kontaridis, Gordon K. Moe Professor and Chair of Biomedical Research and Translational Medicine and Director of Research.


On October 22, 2019, MedTech held their annual Achievement Awards at the Hyatt Regency in Rochester. MMRI was nominated alongside Cornell University-Kevin M. McGovern Family Center for Venture Development, Rochester Institute of Technology and Upstate Medical University for the Distinguished Achievement in Research and Academics award. “It was an honor to be recognized among these great institutions and be surrounded by support from the Bio/Med industry. I am proud to represent MMRI and support the exceptional research and faculty” said Robert Hewson, D.P.M., Vice President, MMRI Board of Directors.


The award was accepted in person in Rochester by Drs. Maria Kontaridis, Jason McCarthy, Zhiqiang Lin, Khanh Ha and Robert Hewson. “This is a great honor for the Institute, and we thank MedTech Association for the nomination and for choosing MMRI as the awarded winner” said Dr. Jason McCarthy, Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Scientific Operations Manager at MMRI.

To submit news for our Member News section of our website and to be included in our weekly Member Mentions email, please send a press release, logo and any relevant photos to officeadmin (at) PLEASE NOTE: Any news sent by Friday will be included in the following Wednesday’s Member Mentions. We will include one mention per member per week.  Thanks for your understanding!
If you’re not on our mailing list or receiving Member Mentions, please click here to sign up.